City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare (Friday Book Club)

20130809-115809.jpg

Honestly, I don’t know how good this review is going to be. I finished this book last weekend and am about half way through the next one in the series. I keep reading because I kind of want to know what will happen, kind of because I want to say that I have, but mostly because I don’t really have anything else to read at the moment. So I am just really reading them because they are there.

So this is the second book in the series, and while it is not getting any better it isn’t getting any worse either. More stupid things happen and the whole love interest thing gets a bit tedious.
But there is action and some interesting twists and it did make me want to pick up the third book so I guess the author does have some skill in telling a story.

I guess, for me at least, the reason I can’t get into this series (or like it as much as some of the other teen fiction I have been reading lately) is because its not a dystopia. I think I am over just your general run of the mill fantasy stories. I don’t really care much for the genre anymore. And these books are just so fantasy. There are so many fantastical elements to them it is a little overkill.

And yet, I am still reading them.

Coming up in my next blog: I have some more ideas about time…

One thought on “City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare (Friday Book Club)

Leave a comment